The Door Is Still Open.

Revelation 3:7-8 “These are the words of him who is holy and true, who holds the key of David. What he opens no one can shut, and what he shuts no one can open. 8 I know your deeds. See, I have placed before you an open door that no one can shut.” 

College outreach and ministry is kind of a special thing for me for two reasons.

First of all, my mother became a Christian when she was in college. She was a very lost, lonely, and searching person, and it was through college ministry that she met Jesus, and it was through the love and support of the local church that she grew in him. And my dad soon began dating my mom again after a five or six year hiatus, and became a Christian because my mom became a Christian.

Without going into too much detail, I don’t know if either of them would be alive if they hadn’t become Christians. My five siblings and I certainly wouldn’t be here, that’s for sure. And my mom became a Christian because God used people (young and old) who had hearts for reaching young adults at a secular university, and went through that open door.

My second reason is from my own experience. By the time I went to college, I was kind of disillusioned with the institution of church and with fellowship, due to bad youth groups, judgment, and weird experiences in the church. But because it was important to my mom and my older sister, I went to the Christian college group at UMASS Lowell, and I met Melissa, who was the full time minister. Needless to say, she was a very special person: she was a friend to me, a counselor, someone who listened and reserved judgment. And she was this person to many people.

Melissa ended up going to Gordon Conwell and getting her master’s in divinity, and she later moved back south to work on another college campus. She saw open doors everywhere, and everywhere she went, God used her powerfully to reach college students.

This past Friday afternoon, Melissa went to be with Jesus after a five-month struggle with cancer. She was only thirty-three years old. And it seems really senseless to me. But my husband said that while it is senseless and very sad, God is taking care of her now, and she accomplished more in her short life than some people do after seventy or eighty years. Her facebook page is filled with messages from former students and friends, remembering her, thanking her, and thanking God for her and for using her the way that he did. Her impact and ministry continues, with me, and with all the other people who were touched by her.

And so the door for her ministry can’t be closed by death. It is still open. And it has opened hundreds of other doors.

The door is open. It always was open, it always is open, and it will stay open to us. We just need to go through. 

Check out Vince’s sermon, God Says: “Hear Me, Share Me. I Have Left an Open Door” here

 

3 Comments on “The Door Is Still Open.”

  1. Ed Cyzewski says:

    Beautiful reflection Emma. So sorry to hear of your loss. May God continue to bless many through the seeds Melissa planted.

  2. Bobbie says:

    What a lovely tribute to my niece, Melissa. Thank you for sharing your thoughts with the rest of us who loved her and were touched by God through her.

  3. Anonymous says:

    Thank you, Bobbie; she was a wonderful person. It is still hard to believe she’s gone, but she left a legacy here with us, and we can still have hope: we’ll see her again.


Leave a Reply

