Testimony Tips

On Sunday we talked briefly about sharing our own story with people who don???t know Jesus.?? Here are some tips for doing so.?? Keep it short.?? Keep it?? simple.?? Keep it positive.?? Lose the weird God stories.?? Plan ahead.

Keep it short!?? This is not the time to give your entire life story.?? This is for them not you.?? Think Poe not Dickens.?? Keep it short.

Keep it simple!?? Speak in a language people can understand.?? Avoid Christianese.?? Sometimes I don???t even understand what Christians are talking about because of their jargon.?? Keep it simple.

Keep it positive!?? Avoid bashing the religion of your youth.?? This is not the time to go off on those darn (Catholics, Methodists, Presbyterians, etc). You had a bad experience.?? I get it.?? Forgive them and move on.?? Keep it positive.

Lose the weird God stories.?? You know what I mean.?? Everyone???s got some.?? I have plenty.?? I share them with Christians???they love them.?? ??But I don???t share them with people who don???t yet have faith. ??Why????? They confuse them.?? Lose the weird God stories in sharing Christ with people who don???t know him.

Finally, plan ahead.?? I???ve written out my testimony.?? I don???t read it.?? I just know it.?? And I can give a short version, a shorter version and a one sentence version.?? You never know when you will get the opportunity to share Christ.?? And I believe God honors our preparation.

Leave a Reply

