He is Risen: Who is Jesus?

In Sunday’s message we looked at the meeting between the Risen Christ and his disciples.  The disciples were a bit confused as to who exactly Jesus was. What man can rise from the dead? 

Who is Jesus?  It’s the most important question we can ask. And the Bible has some answers to this question. Below are four OT prophecies that Jesus fulfills.

Openbible

Jesus is The Prophet Like Moses: The Teacher of God’s people.

The LORD your God will raise up for you a prophet like me from among your own brothers. You must listen to him…I will raise up for them a prophet like you from among their brothers; I will put my words in his mouth, and he will tell them everything I command him.  If anyone does not listen to my words that the prophet speaks in my name, I myself will call him to account.

Deuteronomy 18:15-19

Jesus is The King Like David: The Ruler of God’s people.

Your house and your kingdom will endure forever before me; your throne will be established forever.

2 Samuel 7:16

Jesus is The Servant of the Lord: The Healer of God’s people

 Surely he took up our infirmities 
   and carried our sorrows, 
yet we considered him stricken by God, 
   smitten by him, and afflicted. 
 But he was pierced for our transgressions, 
   he was crushed for our iniquities; 
the punishment that brought us peace was upon him, 
   and by his wounds we are healed.

Isaiah 53:4-5

Jesus is The Son of Man:  The King of the Cosmos

In my vision at night I looked, and there before me was one like a son of man, coming with the clouds of heaven. He approached the Ancient of Days and was led into his presence.  He was given authority, glory and sovereign power; all peoples, nations and men of every language worshiped him. His dominion is an everlasting dominion that will not pass away, and his kingdom is one that will never be destroyed. 

Daniel 7:13-14 

 

 

Leave a Reply

