Softball Update: Doing What the Good Book Says

This is another softball post.  Tuesday night I was 4 for 4 with two triples in a win.  I was very happy.  We won and I hit much, much better than usual.  The difference?  I did what the good book says.

After our team slump (caused in part by my terrible play), I decided I needed to up my game.  I went online and purchased this book:  Complete Guide to Slowpitch Softball.  I read it and started doing what it says.  And it worked.

The hitting advice:  Hit the ball where the fielders aren’t.  Sounds obvious right?  But before I read this instruction I hit the ball wherever without any thought.  Tuesday I surveyed the field first.  I saw no one was in right field (they were employing a shift).   I hit two fly-balls to right and got two triples.  Hit it where they aren’t.

Softball_bat_glove_ball_homeplate

We have a good book.  We have an instruction manual for life.  We have God’s word.  And we are blessed when we read and do what the good book says.

So if you’re slumping in life, break out the good book.  Read it.  Do it.  You’ll be blessed. 

 Be strong and courageous, because you will lead these people to inherit the land I swore to their forefathers to give them.  Be strong and very courageous. Be careful to obey all the law my servant Moses gave you; do not turn from it to the right or to the left, that you may be successful wherever you go.  Do not let this Book of the Law depart from your mouth; meditate on it day and night, so that you may be careful to do everything written in it. Then you will be prosperous and successful.

Joshua 1:6-8

Leave a Reply

