Ruth’s Thoughts on Ruth.

From Ruth Hartunian-Alumbaugh.

Vince’s sermon about Joseph’s Wild Grandmother Ruth is part of my personal journey. It was affirming, encouraging, and just plain amazing to hear about Ruth’s story in the lineage of Jesus.  Without sounding to women’s libby, I find myself marvelling at Ruth’s assertiveness, her persistence, and her going against the grain of culture and tradition.  In case you missed the message, you can hear the sermon here.

In light of Sunday’s sermon, I wanted to recommend a book that I purchased many years ago.  I found this book when our family was travelling home and decided to stop in a book store to find something to read on the way home.  I still like to hold a book in my hand and turn pages (real ones) as opposed to something electronic. But I digress.

I was looking for a book that had an interesting title.  When I saw The Gospel of to Ruth; Loving God Enough to Break the Rules, I knew that that was my book.  For years I have wrestled with the definition of women in various places, including ministry and such. This book seemed like one that would be sympathetic towards my questions and struggles.  And it was better than I expected it to be.

So, if you want to learn more about the Biblical perspective of Ruth (I mean the Bible Ruth) and be encouraged about who lives in your skin, I highly recommend this book to you.  I have a copy that I’ve loaned to many.  It’s one of my “keepers.”  You can get it for cheap on Amazon.  If you do decide to read it, let me know what you think of it. Vince liked what he read, too!

 

Leave a Reply

