He Appeared to Me: Through His Word.

Last Sunday, we meditated on the road to Emmaus as a congregation, to see what God had to say to us through His word on an individual level. Today, Ruth Hartunian-Alumbaugh shares with us what God said to her. 

Sunday’s service really had some skin on it.  I mean, when I hear words, I see images.  I see pictures.  I see in my mind’s eye what I am hearing about with my ears.  This past Sunday was no exception to the images with skin on them.
 
There is something fundamentally appealing to me about Jesus.  He is such a great friend.  The fact that he met the men on the road to walk with them strikes a chord in me.  How many times have I had a great friend join me in a walk?  For me, walking has become one of the best ways to connect with another heart; the heart of a friend.
 
In those days, walking was a major mode of transport.  These days, walking is sometimes inconvenient.  It hinders us from getting somewhere faster so we can do more.  But I really like walking because I am made to slow down and listen!  I have never read anything about Jesus being in a hurry.  I am grateful that He meets me where I am.  
 
The thought of that put a smile on my face on Sunday.  He didn’t expect to be met.  He was the “meeter.”  He was the one seeking to be a part of people’s lives.  He was the one catching up with His peeps.  In the mundane of life, He is there.  In and through all things, He is there.  
 
Nothing has changed as far as how He operates.  I love Him even more for this glorious aspect of His friendship.  What a friend we have in Jesus!
Leave a Reply

