On the Nature of Service.

From Steve Bell

For a few months now, I’ve been lending a hand with music once a month at a local recovery meeting.  I hack my way through 5 or 6 songs, folks thank me because they don’t want to hurt my feelings and I head home.  In many ways, it’s similar to the time Laurie and I used to do seminars with Prison Fellowship:

1. It’s always inconvenient.

2. It’s mildly stressful and I’d always rather be doing something else.

3. It’s easily the most spiritually rewarding thing I do all month.

I’ve learned to live with the tension. My gut’s a wreck and my face burns the whole time I’m  leading, but when they say, “See you next month, “ I think, “A whole month!  Come on!”

Years ago, we were welcoming new members one Sunday at St Pauls. One of the Pastors asked, “So, what do you get when you join the church? Membership cards?  Discounts on VBS supplies? Assigned parking spaces? No, you get to serve, that’s what you get!”

Heady stuff. We get to serve. I may hit a sour note or two, but when I witness a ragged crowd lost in worship, I remember- I don’t have to serve, I get to serve.

And then I think, “I have to wait a whole month to do this again?  Come on!” 

Leave a Reply

